The New Generation Of Music

December 4, 2011

Uncategorized


Avicii. Tiesto. David Guetta. Sweedish House Mafia. These are just some of the names that are conquering the music industry today. House Music is a new style and generation of music that is on its way up in the world. House Music is taking its flight and is reaching new levels in the music industry. Its not your typical music at all, it can even be considered more radical than hip-hop and rap. Yet, its attracting the youth and becoming more and more followed and listened to by many in the United States today.

House music has been around for awhile, but has been more popular in the international scene, as most of the major DJ’s hail from Europe (Finland, Sweeden, Norway). The venues and concerts for some of these DJ’s are mind blowing, people flock in to to see them, while ticket prices are usually pretty high. Not everyone likes house music, most of the songs don’t even have words, some have yet to give it a chance, just because it is different from contemporary music. Opposition to house music comes from many over the issues of drugs. Drugs and house music arguably go hand in hand, something people are not thrilled with at all. House music may be loathed by some, but I suggest to all that haven’t heard any to give it a chance.

If our good friend Edmund Burke was alive what would he say about house music? He would be completely against house music, he would not stand for it in the least bit. Edmund Burke is a huge fan of tradition, and traditionally house music has never been a part of our culture. Additionally, house music is completely different from the contemporary and normal music the United States has seen over the last 40 years. Now Ed would be mad over how it breaks away from traditional music, but he would be furious over just how radical house music is. House music usually involves drugs and bright colored clothing. Burke would dismiss house music in second, deeming it way too radical in nature. House music is different, new and completely out there, Burke wouldn’t comply at all. Burke says we would follow the footsteps of our ancestors and the ones who have come before us, because good has been done and we should stay on the same, guided path. House music is a completely curved path, full of twists that none have really gone down before. Well I’m going to go down it, house music is fresh, new and usually is involved in having a good time. People need to give it more of a chance, maybe Edmund Burke should go out and try some new things, it could be good for him.

I am one for house music and the path that it has created. What do you guys think? Do you want “Fade into Darkness” by Avicii to be the song of our generation? Are you for or against house music? If you aren’t, would you give it a chance? Lastly, do you agree with the Edmund Burke’s political beliefs?

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “The New Generation Of Music”

  1. maxmoray Says:

    I agree house music has definitely taken on a huge roll in the college experience. Basically every party you go to, you will be assured to hear Avicci and other DJs of that sort. Do I think Edmund Burke would be against this type of music? Saying he would, I think would be a big stretch. For me, house music is something that has taken on its own form. It supplies the beats and rhythm for those that are looking to dance while continue with small talk. Also house music has become so increasingly popular, due to the lack of lyrical integrity in music. People care more to hear the beats from these artists then their words. Likewise, house music is a great platform for those who care to drink or take some sort of drugs, to enhance the experience. Most of house music is produced through samples and other performed styles. Edmund Burke would most likely be amused by this music, but I don’t think he would ever be against something so trivial as a genre of music. Elderly more conservative musical fans still have a ton of music to say the least to lean onto. Keep in mind we are all in college, a time when house music is the most conducive.

  2. finkelbr Says:

    At first, I was skeptical of house music. Iv always liked rap and hip hop because of the lyrics and it took me a while to get used to a song without any lyrics at all. I can now say that I am definitely a fan of house music and I would not mind if “Fade Into Darkness” by Avicii was the song of our generation, considering most of our generation is now getting into this new genre of “House Music”. Although house music does seem to be connected to drug use I am still for house music. House music never promotes the use of drugs. It just so happens that people tend to use them when they go to the concerts. It is nothing that the house music is specifically doing or saying to promote the message of drug use. Lastly, I very much disagree with Edmund Burke’s political beliefs. I understand that keeping and remembering our countries traditions and roots is important. However, it is change that has allowed this country to evolve into what it is today. I believe that it is these “curved paths” that truly lead us to better opportunities that would not have been recognized under the traditional guided path.

  3. andgoldberg Says:

    I think you need to approach this issue in regards to the preservation of other music genres. If house music is indeed “taking over” the music scene and eliminating other types of genres, then yes it is a problem. At the same time, if house music is striving as this generation’s music without taking away from other genres there is no reason to fight against the movement. With the increase in technology, I personally believe that house music has the ability to thrive while society still holds onto its love for traditional music genres such as rock and roll and country. The “popular” genres of generations change each decade or so and it is only a matter of time until we move onto a new type of music.

  4. mcdonmeg Says:

    I also would have to agree that house music has taken over the college scene and other night life clubs. Every party plays music like this because of the fast rhythm beats that creates a fun atmosphere to drink and have fun. I personally don’t mind house music if I am going out at night, but I wouldn’t choose to listen to house music during the day or it wouldn’t be the music that I’d be blaring in my car. I think the reason for this is because I like to sing a long to the lyrics and house music doesn’t allow you to do so. I would have to agree to the comment made above by maxmoray,that “people care more to hear the beats from these artists then their words” and I would have to agree that that is something that has made the music more popular. However, I do not think that Avicii, “Fade into Darkness” will be the song of the generation, I personally think that hip-hop and rap still is more popular in the music industry. As for Edmund Burke, I think the argument could go either way. I can see how you would think that he would totally be against it seeing as house music isn’t tradition and “normal” music. However, I think that music is like art, where interpretation is left up to the people. I don’t think you can can claim any music is “normal”, because what is “normal” to one person might not be “normal” to anther person. Therefore, I don’t think Burke might not like the music, but I don’t think he would be totally opposed to the new genre of music.

  5. rachdavidson Says:

    I think that while house music is new, it isn’t necessarily revolutionary. It stems from the same type of music we’ve always listened to. The basics are still there, the beat, the tune, the urge to get up and dance. I agree that, of course, it is different, but I think it is more of an evolution, not a completely new path. Think of it as a remix on all of music.

    My glaring issue with your post, however, is the statement that drugs and house music go hand-in-hand. I think this is a rather large assumption. Just because a group of people do drugs and associate with this music, does not mean the majority of the followers do. If we were to judge an entire group of people just based on a small percentage of them, we could really make the claim about anything. And, if this assumption isn’t true, then your post kind of lacks validity.

    I think a very interesting question you pose, though, is whether we should be accepting of change, and I think this question is really at the center of your argument. I have never really been good with change, however, after going home for thanksgiving, I have a new approach on change. I was expecting such a change, and when there wasn’t one, and when things fell back into the same old routines, I was disappointed. I think we need to acknowledge change, accept change, and embrace change. So yes, maybe “Fade into Darkness,” should be the song of our generation.

  6. rpsafian Says:

    I have been a fan of house/electro/dubstep for a few years now and I love that it’s becoming more popular with my friends and people all over the world. I am often hassled by my parents or those that don’t appreciate house music to turn it down or completely off, claiming it’s not really music. I have tried to explain to them that house music is our rock ‘n roll, and do believe it will be the music of our generation. I have a hard time imagining what it will be like to listen to it with my kids and what I will tell them about the concerts I went to, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

    Burke would argue against house music because it is not a traditional form of music. There are no instruments, no band, and actually, nothing that actually produces a sound when played. Burke would argue that house is not real music because the people creating the music are not playing instruments. I agree that the traditional way of making music is changing rapidly, with more music being created on computer programs, therefore making it easier for someone without traditional musical ability to produce sometimes amazing music. However, the foundations that house music are built on are no different than classical music, jazz, rock ‘n roll or rap. There is a steady BPM (beats per minute) for all house songs, 16 beat phrases that help DJs transition, and a musical key that is the basis for the song, all of which can be found throughout any kind of music. Many popular house songs even sample rap, rock, or other genres of music that help make the song more recognizable and popular for those that aren’t big fans of house. Burke would argue against house music because it is not played in a traditional form, however I would refute him by saying that house is built on the basics of music and uses multiple genres that are widely accepted.

  7. brookegustafson Says:

    I don’t particularly have a problem with house music. Is it something I listen to on a regular basis, while I’m studying or driving in my car? No, it’s not, but I definitely don’t mind listening to it while I’m out at parties. It is up-tempo music which puts you in a good mood, the kind of music everyone listen to when they’re having a good time. I don’t necessarily find it revolutionary though, because it is evolved from other genres of music, just in a more radical, upbeat form. That being said, I have absolutely no problem with it.

    As for Edmund Burke, I think house music and resistance to it provides an interesting metaphor for his political beliefs. People are opposed to house music because it is a newer style here in America, and not everyone accepts that. It is not “traditional” music. This is like Burke in his political beliefs; we should follow the traditions of our forefathers, rejecting any radically different, new beliefs. However, change is inevitable and often stems from ideas deemed too radical when they’re first introduced. House music is a non-political example of such a “radical” belief. I personally do not agree with Burke’s political views, because I think changes to traditions have and always will continue to occur, for they are often necessary. I think it is important to honor the Constitution that our country was built upon, but overtime things must evolve to fit the current social and political climate. If that means house music is the newest music craze, then I have no objections, and I think it will continue to gain a larger following with time.

  8. Patrick Biondi Says:

    I don’t have a problem with ‘house music’, i think it is fun, however, that’s all it is. Even making the statement that a house music song would be the “song of the generation” is ridiculous. The only use for house music is to have fun. It’s not real music, there aren’t any instruments, very limited vocals, and not a lot of ability required to “play” house music. Technically, anyone could do it, all they have to have is a computer. For this reason, I’d have to argue that the influence of ‘house music’ is even less than rap, because within rap, there is the ability to affect millions with words: it can be a form of poetry. House music, however, is simply a mashing of sounds, which can be fun to party to, but cannot be dubbed the sound of a generation.

